by Rie

This is one of those important posts. Important because I’ve been hit by wordlessness.

So, thank you.

I’m kinda hoping you read this. Even if you’re not, it’s the thought that counts?

Here is some context:

I could hear him saying, “Always,” and her saying, “Always,” in return.

Suddenlly standing next to me, Augustus half whispered, “They’re big believers in PDA.”

“What’s with the ‘always’?”

“Always is their thing. They’ll always love each other and whatever. I would conservatively estimate that they have texted each other the word always four million times in the last year.”

And, then:

“Okay,” he said. “I gotta go to sleep. It’s almost one.”

“Okay,” I said.

“Okay,” he said.

I giggled and said, “Okay.” And then the line was quiet but not dead. I almost felt like he was there in my room with me, but in a way it was better, like I was not in my room and he was not in his, but instead we were together in some invisible and tenuous third space that could only be visited on the phone.

“Okay,” he said after forever. “Maybe okay will be our always.”

“Okay,” I said.

It was Augustus who finally hung up.

I thought I’d have something poetic to say by now but all I have is thank you.

What you’ve given me is probably worth more than you think.

Oh, gosh, I’m a sap. I will word this better another day. I promise.

